No-Harm List - FAME in heating oil

Due to the increasing demand for bio heating oil a sufficient quality and oxidation stability as well as safe handling are of enormous importance. The German pre-standard DIN SPEC 51603-6 specifies the minimum requirements and test methods with corresponding limits for alternative liquid fuels such as FAME. This is essential for a safe use of heating oil in the respective oil equipment. Information concerning the risk or potential negative interactions of oxidation stabilizers with the fuel oil matrix and its additives are also of great importance, but could not be detected by any test until 2015.

In cooperation with the mineral oil industry AGQM has developed the No-Harm test for oxidation stabilizers in bio heating oil. This testing program rules out possible negative interactions of additives with fossil oil and its additives. The test program includes the following:

  • Determination of the relative efficiency of oxidation stabilizers
  • Minimum requirements
  • DGMK filtration test 663
  • Interaction test

In May 2016, the first period of the No-Harm test for oxidation stabilizers in bio heating oil was successfully completed. Unfortunately, none of the tested additives could be added to the No-Harm list. The problems could be verified and it is assumed that the additives can be successfully tested in a new No-Harm testing. The problems encountered indicate that No-Harm testing is essential to ensure quality and secure use of additives. 

The second test round could be completed in June 2017. One additive passed the test successfully and a new no-harm list for FAME as blend component in heating oil could be opened:

AGQM No-Harm List Heating Oil

For further information please contact info@agqm-biodiesel.de

No-Harm Test - FAME in Heizöl

Aufgrund der zunehmenden Nachfrage nach Bioheizöl ist ein sicherer Umgang sowie eine ausreichende Qualität und Oxidationsstabilität von enormer Bedeutung. In der deutschen Vornorm DIN SPEC 51603-6 sind neben den Mindestanforderungen auch Prüfverfahren und Grenzwerte für alternative flüssige Brennstoffe wie FAME festgelegt. Diese sind für einen betriebssicheren Einsatz der Brennstoffe in Ölgeräten essenziell. Informationen über die Verträglichkeit oder mögliche unerwünschte Wechselwirkungen der eingesetzten Oxidationsstabilisatoren mit der Heizölmatrix bzw. den Additiven des fossilen Heizöls sind ebenfalls von großer Bedeutung, konnten aber bis ins Jahr 2015 von keinem Test erfasst werden.

Zusammen mit der Mineralölwirtschaft wurde nun von der AGQM der No-Harm Test für Oxidationsstabilisatoren in Bioheizöl entwickelt. Dieser beschreibt ein Prüfprogramm, mit dem Oxidationsstabilisatoren für die FAME-Komponente in Brennstoffen umfassend auf unerwünschte Wechselwirkungen getestet werden können. Das Prüfprogramm beinhaltet folgende Punkte:

  • Bestimmung der relativen Wirksamkeit der Oxidationsstabilisatoren
  • Beurteilung der Einhaltung der festgelegten Mindestanforderungen
  • DGMK Filtrationstest 663
  • Wechselwirkungstest

Im Mai 2016 wurde die erste Runde des No-Harm Tests für Oxidationsstabilisatoren in Bioheizöl erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Leider konnte keines der getesteten Additive auf die No-Harm Liste aufgenommen werden. Die Probleme wurden durch den Test verifiziert und es ist davon auszugehen, dass die Additive in einer erneuten No-Harm Prüfung erfolgreich getestet werden können. Die aufgetretenen Probleme zeigen jedoch, dass No-Harm Tests für eine sichere Additivierung essenziell notwendig sind.

Die zweite Testrunde konnte im Juni 2017 erfolgreich beendet werden. Ein Additiv bestand den Test, sodass eine neue No-Harm Liste für FAME als Blendkomonente für Heizöl eröffnet wurde:

Reg. no Filed Company Brand name Test level
2017-H-01 06.06.2017 Oxiris Chemicals S.A. IONOL BH 1000 B20

 

Für weitere Informationen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung info@agqm-biodiesel.de.