Quality Management System

As it should be the case with every product, the consumer of fuels – may that be an engine producer, car manufacturer or simply a driver – can expect to receive a product of clearly defined and lasting high quality; thus Biodiesel is no exception to the rule.

All over the world minimum requirements for fuels are stipulated by standards. In Europe Diesel and Biodiesel are defined by standards EN 590 and EN 14214 respectively, which are implemented in Germany by the national standards DIN EN 590 and DIN EN 14214 and now – in addition – by the German B7-standard DIN 51628 since its coming into force in January 2009. Biodiesel must fulfil the requirements of DIN EN 14214, no matter if it is used as pure fuel (B100) or blend component.

There is a fundamental difference between the production of Biodiesel and that of conventional fossil fuels. In order to be able to meet the high quality expectations of the consumers, AGQM (Arbeitsgemeinschaft Qualitaetsmanagement Biodiesel e.V.) was founded in 1999 as an initiative of the German Biodiesel producers, traders and UFOP (Union zur Foerderung von Oel- und Proteinpflanzen e.V.). AGQM’s central task is to induce and establish a basis for the Biodiesel users’ trust in the ‘product Biodiesel’ by the creation of a uniform and efficient quality management system and to ensure that a high and lasting quality becomes a standard all over Germany.

AGQM’s quality management concept consists of several elements. For AGQM members, the combination of checks and service proved to be an efficient package of measures for the improvement of the product quality which in turn contributed significantly to the positive development of Biodiesel quality on the German market:

• Definition of additional requirements
• Independent quality checks by external service providers
• Guidelines for internal quality checks and documentation
• Technical support and counselling
• Round Robin tests

These measures are not just restricted to the production but also comprise the trading as well as the transport of Biodiesel. All AGQM member companies (producers and traders) commit themselves to the observance of the strict requirements which even exceed those of DIN EN 14214 in some aspects.

AGQM membership is open to all German Biodiesel producers and trading companies as well as to enterprises (associations, additive producers, plant engineering and construction companies) which are connected with the Biodiesel industry. With the introduction of the BPAC Certificate, this pool of Biodiesel producers and traders was also opened internationally.

The AGQM Quality Management Concept

Objectives:

• Observance of legal and customised requirements of the fuel properties
• Provision of a consistently high Biodiesel quality
• Avoidance of technical problems caused by fuel
• Creation of all users’ trust in Biodiesel

Target Groups:

• Producers
• Trading organisations and enterprises
• Transport and storage companies

Measures:

• Independent quality control
- Production
- Storage facilities
- Intermediate storage
• Documentation of production and transport
• Technical counselling

Qualitätsmanagement-System

Qualität mit System

Wie bei jedem Produkt kann auch der Anwender von Kraftstoffen – sei er nun Motorenentwickler, Fahrzeugbauer oder einfach nur Autofahrer – erwarten, dass er eine definierte, gleich bleibend gute Qualität erhält; auch Biodiesel stellt hier keine Ausnahme dar.

Weltweit sind die Mindestanforderungen an Kraftstoffe durch Normen festgelegt. Diesel und Biodiesel werden dabei durch die EN 590 bzw. durch die EN 14214 beschrieben, die in Deutschland als nationale Normen DIN EN 590 und DIN EN 14214 Anwendung finden. Hinzu kommt die Deutsche B7-Norm DIN 51628, die seit Januar 2009 in Kraft ist. Biodiesel muss dabei sowohl bei Verwendung als Reinkraftstoff (B100) als auch als Beimischkomponente die Anforderungen der DIN EN 14214 erfüllen.

Die Herstellung von Biodiesel unterscheidet sich grundlegend von der herkömmlicher fossiler Kraftstoffe. Um die hohen Qualitätsansprüche der Verbraucher erfüllen zu können, wurde im Jahre 1999 die Arbeitsgemeinschaft Qualitätsmanagement Biodiesel e.V. (AGQM) auf Initiative der deutschen Biodieselhersteller, des Handels und nicht zuletzt der Union zur Förderung von Oel- und Proteinpflanzen e.V. (UFOP) gegründet. Die zentrale Aufgabe der AGQM ist es, durch die Schaffung eines einheitlichen und effizienten Qualitätsmanagements das Vertrauen der Anwender von Biodiesel in das Produkt zu schaffen und zu erhalten sowie dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass in ganz Deutschland eine hohe und konstante Produktqualität zum Standard wird.

Das Qualitätsmanagement-System besteht aus mehreren Komponenten, die in der Kombination von Kontrollen und Service für die Mitglieder ein effizientes Maßnahmenbündel zur Verbesserung der Produktqualität darstellen, das wesentlich zur ausgesprochen positiven Entwicklung der Biodieselqualität im deutschen Markt beigetragen hat:

• Festlegung von zusätzlichen Anforderungen
• Unabhängige Qualitätskontrolle durch externe Dienstleister
• Vorgaben für interne Qualitätskontrolle und Dokumentation
• Technische Beratung
• Ringversuche

Die Maßnahmen beschränken sich nicht nur auf die Produktion, sondern umfassen auch die Handelsschiene bis hin zum Transport des Biodiesels. Alle AGQM-Mitgliedsunternehmen (Produzenten und Händler) verpflichten sich dabei, die strengen und in verschiedenen Punkten über die Anforderungen der DIN EN 14214 hinausgehenden Vorgaben einzuhalten.

Die Mitgliedschaft in der AGQM steht allen deutschen Produzenten und Handelsunternehmen sowie auch der Biodieselbranche nahestehenden Unternehmen (Verbände, Additivhersteller, Anlagenbauer) offen. Mit der Einführung des BPAC-Zertifikats konnte das System auch international geöffnet werden.

Das AGQM-Qualitätsmanagement-System

Ziele:

  • Einhaltung der gesetzlichen und kundenspezifischen Anforderungen an die Kraftstoffeigenschaften
  • Bereitstellung einer einheitlich guten Biodieselqualität
  • Vermeidung von kraftstoffbedingten technischen Problemen
  • Vertrauensbildung bei allen Anwendern von Biodiesel

Zielgruppen:

  • Produzenten
  • Handelsorganisationen und –unternehmen
  • Transportunternehmen und Lagerhalter

Maßnahmen:

  • Unabhängige Qualitätskontrolle
    • Produktion
    • Tanklager
    • Zwischenlager
  • Dokumentation der Produktion und des Transportes
  • Technische Beratung
Mitglieder